Absolute Noob - Leicestershire

Hi Folks,

New to the forum and brand new to drones.

Picked up a Dji mini pro 3 last week and as yet (due to weather mainly and making sure I’m comfortable with the operation) not been up in the air. Looking to get out over the weekend when I find a spot that seems suitable or I can be sure of no restrictions.

Naively thought with a 249g drone I would be able put it up in the local park at a quiet time for some practice but seems there may be restrictions on that if I am reading it right.

Seems YouTubers lob them up over industrial areas without a care in the world but finding sensible/suitable areas to practice maybe somewhat trickier unless Iv misunderstood.

Any advice, input on starting out, great places to go I am all ears.

Looking forward to seeing your contributions and content. :+1:

6 Likes

Hi @G-Unit and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

Have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. Feel free to add yourself to the members map too :+1:t2:

We’re a well established club with many knowledgeable members so it’s very likely that any issues you come across will have been discussed here before. Our discussion forum has very powerful search features which should help you find what you need but if you get stuck you can post a new question in the #questions-and-answers category.

Looking for recommendations of places to fly? Check out our interactive map on Drone Scene - be sure to log in to gain access to the full suite of features and map layers:

And please feel free to add locations of your own too.

Our Associates are able to enjoy a lot of great services for free but our Members are eligible for a whole lot more! You can find all the details about our Membership Benefits on our FAQ :smiley:

Welcome once again!

1 Like

Welcome to the club :+1: :+1: :+1:

1 Like

:+1:Cheers for the reply​:+1:

Hi, Gavin. In which part of the country are you located?