Calling all South devon Drone pilots

Hi All,
I’ve been flying model aircraft for many years at various clubs in south Devon at: Newton Abbot and Exeter horse race tracks, a Club field near Marldon Paignton, (all types of aircraft) a farm on cliffs near Brixam and Haytor on Dartmoor (Glides only, no props allowed) and for indoor flying at Kingsteignton Indoor bowling club (now closed and is a Fitness Centre. Thought I haven’t been flying RC aircraft for a few years I have recently bought two drones. A small Hubsan H107D X4 for learning indoors with and a Global Drone X183. I bought the X183 to help with my other hobby, metal detecting as it can be used to get aerial views of the detecting locations to see if there are any interesting crop marks. So far only flown the Hubsan indoors and the X183 in my garden, so looking for suitable outdoor space to learn to fly the Syma when weather improves. In the past I have started and run several clubs and am contemplating starting a Drone Club here in south Devon. Just need to find a suitable location. I have already approached 2 such locations and am looking at a few more this week. Who’s interested ? Contact me via tonyvee2@hotmail.co.uk if you are. If there’s enough South Devon potential members I will arrange a meet where we can have a drink and discuss the idea (by the way, most aircraft model flying clubs in s=this area don’t allow drones.
Best wishes
Tony.

1 Like

Hi there @Tony and welcome to Grey Arrows, great to have you on board :+1:

I think @SharkBait is down your way - I’m sure we must have some others too!

What’s the X183 like to fly? I’m not familiar with the Global Drone range of equipment.

I’ve just finished watching the entire boxset (all three seasons) of Detectorists - what a great show, big Mackenzie Crook fan :smiley: So… is it accurate? :slight_smile:

Hi,