Corby Borough Council proposal to ban drone flights over council recreational land

Good evening all,

I am completely new to drone flying, so new in fact my drone is sat in its box still awaiting my 50th birthday early in December, As a responsible person I have been doing some research about my drone, the laws relating to flying drones in the UK, visiting the DroneSafe website etc, watching lots of instructional videos etc. everything I can to ready myself for when I eventually get to fly my drone for the first time.

However this evening during a google search I learnt that my local borough council are planning to ban drone flights from either taking off/landing or overflying any of it recreational spaces by amending local bylaws relating to such spaces.

https://www.northantstelegraph.co.uk/news/proposals-to-ban-drones-from-parts-of-corby-move-a-step-closer-1-8523388

Obviously this concerns me greatly, after having invested close on £1k for my drone and equipment, I don’t want it to be shut down before I even get it out of the box, I am in the morning contacting the council to find out what the current status of this process is at, as I strongly want to have a say in this, and will obviously if i’m not too late want to take part in the public consultation.

The council says its main reasons for wanting to take this action to the change to the existing bylaws is that without the change the authority could be liable if someone was injured as a result of drone activity, they went on to say that the council did not have any public land viable where drone users could fly their model aircraft, They also claim that drone could be used to fly over and observer peoples gardens, and that they would not accept any applications from private individuals to fly drones, and only applications from companies would be entertained for certain purposes and of course emergency services.

So my question to you all is this: