Drone flying for payment

Hi all, I’m an event photographer who has recently purchased a Mini 2 drone initially, for pleasure but have been asked by a number of people if I can photograph their home/farm for which payment will be given. I have a Flyer and Operator ID through the CAA. Any advice would be welcome. Thanking you in advance. Paul

2 Likes

You’ll need an A2 as a bare minimum, and I’d get some insurance.

Ned

4 Likes

Actually, could someone confirm that?

The OP is describing activity which I believe would fall under the A1 subcategory.

I’m also aware that there is no differentiation between ‘leisure’ and ‘commercial’ drone flights.

However, I think the CAA want to see a level of pilot competence for any commercial work…

Ned

2 Likes

Thank you Ned

Though the classes and categories are still the same, insurance is still required for commercial operations. 3rd party cover to a minimum of ~£750k and has to be EC785/2004 compliant.

I honestly don’t know how easy or difficult it will be to get valid insurance for commercial flights without some kind of certification, and if you do need certification I don’t know if the A2 CofC is going to cut it with the insurers. I’d guess they’ll want to see proof of competency even if the CAA doesn’t.

2 Likes

Paul

I have come into drone working through a similar route, commercial and event photographer, What sort of events do you shoot?

a couple of years ago did my pfco and renewed once , probably going to renew again in April when it is due. I am still unsure of how the new regs effect me and especially new professionals but you will definitely need some form of certification if you are earning from flights and imagery.

Also insurance is a must at least 5 million 3rd party. Last year when I was working a lot I had annual insurance through drone cover but since covid just paying when I fly through flock.

Sorry can’t be more help.

Good luck

1 Like

Pretty sure Flock will cover it without an A2 CofC.

3 Likes