Flying on private property

Hello all,

I’m a university student that wants to do an experiment that involves operating UAVs. The nature of the experiment is not relevant (wireless networks), but I planned to fly UAVs over some fields owned by my uni. The UAVs in question are self-built and weight around 1.2kgs. My understanding from the UK drone regulations is that my UAVs are considered A2 transitional aircrafts, and can’t therefore be flown within 50m horizontally from uninvolved persons and that I need an A2CoC to operate them.

Here’s my question: Does the 50m horizontal limit still apply if flying in private property with permission of the owner? My uni has given me preliminary permission for my experiment, however, I don’t think I can cordon-off the entire flight area so no uninvolved person gets within the 50m limit. Am I still able to perform this flight legally? For reference, my uni appears as a yellow area in https://dronescene.co.uk and in the AirMap and Drone Assist apps.

The 50m separation is in aviation law and applies everywhere. It’s irrelevant who owns the land. It’s intended to protect the safety of people who are not involved in your drone operation.

You are lucky to be in the transitional period. After it ends, a self- built drone of that weight is relegated to A3 only.

However …

You could join a model flying club like FPVUK and fly under Article 16, if the land is either non-urban or primarily recreational in nature. “Education” is allowed under Article 16. “Research” may not be though. If this is an option, you can reduce your separation distance to a 30m bubble, which may be enough.

If that’s no good I think your only (legal) options are to find a different location or to pursue an Operational Authorisation from the CAA.

8 Likes

Thank you for your response, it’s very informational. I’ll look into FPVUK as a potential option for me.

Cheers.

1 Like