Hello from a total beginner in Huddersfield

Hi all. Thanks for having me.
I’m Dale from Huddersfield, 64 year old retired due to illness. Seriously looking to get into Drone flying as a hobby and to get me out in the fresh air more. New to the drone scene and a total beginner but really interested and wanting to get into what seems to me to be an exciting hobby.
After researching and studying internet / youtube vids ( and my budget ) i took the plunge and bought a HS 720E, i could’nt stretch to a DJI or a mavic. So i’m hoping that will do me for now.
I also got myself a little HS 210 for flying indoors to “learn the ropes and controls” and have a bit of fun before i take the big one outside.
Anyone with tips about the 720 is greatly appreciated.
I did both my registration and flying test on the CAA website today and got my numbers. Seemed straight forward enough, common sense really, but certainly learned a thing or two and found it quite interesting. It would be nice to get together with someone local to fly together if thats at all possible. looking at the map there is 1 or 2 around me, so let me know if you would be willing to mentor me.
Well thats all i can think of for now, so thanks for reading and happy and safe flying.
Best wishes, Dale.

2 Likes

Hi @Dale and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

Have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. Feel free to add yourself to the members map too :+1:t2:

We’re a well established club with many knowledgeable members so it’s very likely that any issues you come across will have been discussed here before. Our discussion forum has very powerful search features which should help you find what you need but if you get stuck you can post a new question in the #questions-and-answers category.