Hello from Dundee

Hello All. Just a quick note to add my name to the group.

I am new to this new era of drones having built models and flow various contraptions back in my youth. I am preparing to complete my pilot registration and am looking to purchase a DJI Mavic Mini in the near future. I’ve looked at many potential non-DJI drones but like the technology in the DJI solution and the price of the Mini makes it possible to get back into this. My, how things have changed.

Oh, I should probably mention that I found my way here after watching a number of videos by “Ian in London”.

6 Likes

Welcome to the club I’m sure you will have lots of fun with the mini I’m also new to the world of drones so bought myself a second hand Mavic pro and loving learning to fly and also the new world of video editing it’s great and I’m sure you will love this club it’s fab

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome @Scubadave63 - I like the specs on the Mini but to be honest would rather have been getting the Mavic AIR due to the collision avoidance and the GLONASS system, but I can’t justify the nearly doubt the price. Not for something I want to use primarily for family holiday treks. Having said that, the Mini has many very attractive features.

I guess at some point someone is going to ask why I would register as both pilot and the drone registration, given that it’s advertised at 249g. I’ve seen a couple of reviews where the reviewer mentioned that DJI include (or you can certainly purchase) skins for this drone. The skin can add up to 2g more to the overall weight - so you are in trouble as soon as you do this. Better to avoid any problems by just following the rules and registering now. It also let’s me move to a heavier drone later should I be inclined.

1 Like

Well done it’s always good to be on the right side of good I think

1 Like

Welcome to Grey Arrows @B0M0A0K :wave:t2: