Hello from Peterborough

Hi all.

Thank you for having me here.

Quick introduction:

Currently I’m flying Mavic Pro (got it couple of weeks ago), upgraded from P3S. Although I’ve done few hours up in the air I’m still learning the hobby.

I’ve managed to kind of crash my phantom once, flying below the trees it decided to come back home due to low battery… And I cancelled “cancel return to home” instead of cancel return to home (if you know what I mean). Luckily I caught it just before hitting the ground breaking my remote antenna but no damage to the drone.

Eventually I’ve decided to go for Mavic Pro as portability is almost zero with phantom and the range was annoying as well.

After couple of months tracking best price for Mavic I went for a deal from Gearbest for £627 delivered from EU warehouse. It was a gamble as once I had to claim money through PayPal for the phone that wasn’t delivered. Anyway the drone turned up seven days later in perfect condition so happy days.

Additionally I bought two small cases from amazon (£16) and the dji sun shade (£20), charging hub (£27) and two batteries from Maplins (£119 but batteries has been cancelled) so… I used Tobydeals before for phantom battery with success so I order two genuine batteries for £111 (not delivered yet).

At the moment I’m considering to insure my drone and myself, best I’ve seen is:

Photoguard for accidental damage for about £50 p.a.
FPV or BMFA for liability but not sure which one to be honest.

Apologies for the prices but I wanted to share my journey and spark the conversation hopefully.

Again thank you for having me here.

Best regards, Peter.

1 Like

Welcome Peter,
I see you’re just down the road, I’m in leafy Corby. I visit your neck of the woods a lot, mainly site seeing M&S by command of her indoors. Give me a shout if you’d like a meet up. I’m just helping a noob with his Mavic Pro so you’re welcome to join us.

1 Like

Hi Njoro.