Hello From Strensall, North Yorkshire

Hi All.
Newbie here, Well 67 yr old, “Old Newbie” I live in Strensall just outside of York, I have recently retired so I decided to buy a drone, I have bought the Holystone HS 720E EIS. I have flown RC Helis many years ago so i am hoping it has at least given me a fighting chance to fly the drone, I have got my Operators ID and Aircraft ID from the CAA, so all set to go, I hope to find a field and get permission to fly. so that I can just practice take offs, hovers, and direction, then i may be brave enough to move around the sky. my other hobbies are Photography, Nikon D300 and Nikon D700, and also Caravanning. looking forward to chatting and probably meeting members on the club. Health Wishes to all.

4 Likes

Hi @tankie1rtr and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

I know ‘Strennie’, quite well the Mrs hails from Haxby and the in-laws are still there.

Have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. Feel free to add yourself to the members map too :+1:t2:

We’re a well established club with many knowledgable members so it’s very likely that any issues you come across will have been discussed here before. Our discussion forum has very powerful search features which should help you find what you need but if you get stuck you can post a new question in the #questions-and-answers category.

Looking for recommendations of places to fly? Check out our interactive map on Drone Scene - be sure to log in to gain access to the full suite of features and map layers:

Where To Fly Your Drone in the UK

Find places to fly your Drone (UAV) in the UK and share your favourite flying locations with other hobbyists pilots.

And please feel free to add locations of your own too.