Hi from Basingstoke

Hi All

Great Forum! I’m new to the scene, although not to RC and have flown smaller drones etc. I have a Mavic Air - well technically I will on Friday (birthday) and my wife won’t let me even look at it until then - veeerrryy frustrating! It’s given me time to do a massive amount of research though…

I wondered if I could ask a couple of q’s?

1. I have an old military base nearby that these days is used for private security training and some reserve forces activity - they also filmed Scrap Heap Challenge in there. It’s got some beautiful terrain which id like to get some shots of. It doesn’t show as a no go or restricted zone on Altitude Angel or Drone Assist so does this mean it’s not restricted and therefore ok to fly over (line of sight of course).

2. Re goggles they look like a great bit of kit. Do many use them and do they help with filming etc? What are the pros and cons outside of requiring a spotter?

Many thanks All!

1 Like

Welcome to GADC

Lots of friendly and knowledgable folks on here.

I can try to answer your first question.

As long as you are taking off / landing on public land and there are no other aircraft about and no people on the base when you go flying, I would go for it personally.

Alas I don’t own nor have I used the Goggles. Being a spectacle wearer, it is quite a hinderance for me to try these things. Also having a spotter is another drawback as you have said.

Hi @Blainey and welcome to Grey Arrows :smiley:

Congrats on the birthday pressie too, excellent choice!!

As per @RaRaRasputin I’d get out there too, don’t sweat it :+1: Perhaps also check the DJI NFZ map first too, just in case… you can do this from within the GO4 app or at https://www.dji.com/flysafe/geo-system/unlock

There are a good few goggles owners here, and some Moverio owners too.

Loving the Shelby Cobra mate :heart_eyes:

You can get lens inserts (I forget the proper name for them)

1 Like

Thanks guys.