Hi from Cambridge

Just came across this forum, looks great. Looking forward to participating in some of the topics.

I’m new to drones and recently got myself a Mavic Mini. It’s impressive! Particularly how it handles wind at height. I couldn’t image myself starting off with a lower quality drone.

I took the CAA test (scored 20/20!) to familiarise myself with the regulations, although I understand that’s not required for the Mini (<250g). I’m still a bit confused about where it’s ok to flight, though. There’re the obvious "don’t"s (near airports, large groups of people, etc, per CAA documentation). But are there any obvious "do"s?

Reading various websites, it’s pretty clear that hobbyists should stay away from National Trust and Wildlife Trust sites. Flying there can disturb local wildlife and visitors looking for peace and quiet. But many councils have not published any guidance, which is somewhat frustrating.

For example, are forests ok? We also have tremendous amounts of land with plantation on it. Flying over them is beautiful, but searching for ownership through the land registry is very expensive. Does the “Right to Roam” apply for those?

It looks to me like various bodies (councils, trusts, and the CAA) have issued clear restrictions on where to fly. But what about a list of areas which are clearly ok?

Cheers!

2 Likes

It shows most restrictions and recommended sites as well - reports from GADC members on each site. There are plenty more to be added to the map as people “discover” them. Login with your GADC username and password.

1 Like

Firstly, welcome to the club, it’s a great place with a wealth of knowledge and we aren’t the ‘drone police’ like many other clubs.
You have made a great choice of the Mavic mini.
If you haven’t already done so, download an app called NATs, this will show you areas in which flying is either restricted or might have areas which might be of concern such as schools, prisons, power lines.