How windy is too windy?

For the last few evenings since the change of weather, I’ve found myself sat in my living room gazing out of the patio window at the top of some tall trees up the field about 150 yards away.

My other half thinks I’ve finally lost it. she said “what do you keep looking at out there?” Trees I said. "What’s wrong with them? "They’re moving, I said. The look on her face was a picture. I then had to explain.

My question (which I’m sure must have been asked a thousand times) is how windy is too windy?

I took my MPP out the other night and despite getting the windy message at about 120ft it really didn’t seem to affect anything, although I didn’t feel up to increasing my altitude.

I am pretty new to this lark too and also been getting in a froth about the wind. I have to say that the MP can handle some pretty strong breezes without getting out of shape. Even when I got the red critical wind warning at 400 feet I just pressed RTH and it came doodling back quite happily. I would suggest keeping it fairly close and be aware that the wind at head height is considerably less than 400 feet and just play around and get a feel for it. Most important thing is not to fly downwind and use up a lot of battery as there is a fair chance of running out of steam coming home into a head wind. Also the UAV forecast is pretty good as a guide :wink:

My test is put it up to around 50m with sports mode off and obstacle avoidance on.

If it holds position and can fly into wind I know it’s under 22mph. If it’s struggling I call it a day.

You can fly it in sports mode in higher wind but can be a bad idea. If you lose signal and failsafe RTH kicks in it will try to return at max 22mph and may not have enough power to overcome wind.

I’ve increased my RTH speed to combat this but lose obstacle avoidance.

1 Like