I'm a good photographer but poor flyer

Hi friends.

let me clarify a potentially big headed statement in the title… Good is in the eye of the beholder… I’m only talking about the fact that i know how to get what i want personally… exposure, angle, perspective i want from a technical aspect.

However… what is definite… getting my Mini 2 into those places is ‘awkward’… unless i’m really close to the drone my control is (admittedly better than a year ago) poor.

I’d like you opinions on a few things apart from more practice which I admit I’m not focusing on for a few reasons (not excuses)

• List item

I don’t get regular time to go out and practice flying for more than an hour at a time. More like an average of once every 5 weeks and my aim is to get video or photographs… a poor bias there perhaps

I changed my yaw settings (acceleration and speed etc a few times in cine, normal and sport modes… and my turns are sporadic… do you think this is making me waste time practicing and messing up my expectations… I only thought of this today.

.expecting too much from my time with this machine for the time i have flown it …6 hours over 9 months if that?

be grateful It isn’t wrecked and it can be used… LOL

your thoughts are welcome…

2 Likes

Obviously, it depends on what you’re doing, video will be harder and will require more flying skills to get the smooth shots. @ianinlondon has a few good videos on YouTube talking about the best settings for smooth flying. It’s a great place to start.

Photos are easier because you can spend as much time lining up the shot as you need (the only limiting factor will be the drone’s battery) but take your time, slow the drone down by using cine mode so that you can move the drone around slowly to get it into the position you want.

5 Likes

Are you just talking about photos or videos?

If photos, flying skills probably aren’t as important, you just need to get it where you want it. Is that the challenge?

1 Like

you’re both up late… LOL