Is Sutton Park (Birmingham) a club member only flying space

Hi all… I’m new to the GADC… pleased to find this place.

New to my DJI Mini 2 as well.

Sutton Park (Birmingham UK) is local to me but I’m confused over my research. Some say you can only fly there if you are a member of the Sutton park flying club.

I don’t want to get into trouble or upset anyone so i’d like to know first. I remember as a kid seeing model aircraft being flown in a certain area there. but times and authorisations change.

Anyone with recent experience? Thanks

1 Like

Hi from Oswestry.

1 Like

www.whatdotheyknow.com

1 Like

Slightly better link… Simon Hawkins - Freedom of Information requests - WhatDoTheyKnow

1 Like

And even better: Model Aircraft in parks Drones and Radio Controlled flying Policy doc draft V2 2019.pdf ncie flow chart they have there too!

1 Like

Welcome from the Black Country. Yes it is, sorry!

Thanks Hotrodspike!

Black Country… Salt of the Earth!

just clarifying… Yes it is… Sorry… Club member only for the whole of the Park!? Are you/were you, a member then?

Just need to get this right. Thanks

1 Like

Alright mar mate, ow am ya?

Reading the B’ham City council rules, only members of a recognised cub are allowed to fly in Sutton Park, (they don’t like drones or helicopters) and you’re not allowed to fly RC in any parks at all…BUT, as I’ve read it, you can fly Free Flight craft!
Let me see, what’s the most dangerous, totally un-controlled lumps flying about, or something that’s under control at all times and will stop dead if the sticks are let go? Somebody obviously hasn’t done their homework have they?
I’m in Walsall so only 15 minutes away from Sutton Park, but not allowed to fly 'cos I’m not in their “club”! I use the Arboretum extension in Walsall, nobody bothers you and there’s “no policy against UAVs” at all, bonus!
To quote Groucho Marx “I wouldn’t want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member”!

John