Jittery video playback

I’m sure it’s my crappy cpu, but I took some video yesterday on the mini2. 4K, 25fps. Trying to play it back on desktop and it’s horrible, stop start, jumpy and maxing out the cpu, even when overclocking. I’m on win10 home 64bit, celeron i5 G3930 @ 2.90GHz, 8GB RAM and 2048MB Radeon HD 7800. I’ve played it back on 3 different programs and all are the same. Can I use davinci resolve to compress it or make it better? Sorry but I am a complete and utter virgin when it comes to video

Anywhere you can upload the file so others can take a look/test?

2 Likes

This might help. Use 4K footage in an HD Timeline in Davinci Resolve 16 - 1080p and UHD Tutorial for Beginners - YouTube

Don’t skip the start as when he gets to the 1080 timeline the settings he’s applied won’t make sense.

Someone else more versed in Davinci may come along later with a better suggestion.

I’ll give it a try, but bare in mind this is my first attempt at video so it will most likely be rubbish :slight_smile:
I’ll also have to go into town to upload from my tablet, my broadband is 3meg down and 0.3 up and I get no mobile connection signal at home either!!!

Sounds like the common problem on older spec PCs. They don’t take kindly to H.265 codec compression … which the Mini2’s 4k will be in.

Use Handbrake to convert to H.264 … and even then, your computer may struggle with 4k video, but hopefully will be ok.

If it does struggle with H.264 4k, then you can use Handbrake to also lower the resolution to 1080p at the same time.

2 Likes

cheers, I’ll give that a watch

1 Like

Thanks for the info. I think I’ll just record in 1080 from now, 4k seems a bit of overkill when it’s only going on the tinterweb.

Yes and no.

No = it does contain more detail, so cropping in edit can be done before outputting at 1080p without loss of detail.

Yes = if you won’t be cropping, and only posting full frame, then agreed - most of the time.