Large companies hostile to drones operating above their property?

Hi there

Not sure this is the most appropriate category, so please move it if necessary.

I’m fairly new to flying drones, but have sorted the necessary CAA paperwork and believe that I understand the legislation around flying my sub-250g drone (Mini 3 Pro) in the UK.

I’m working on a project documenting ex-collieries, which have quite often been occupied by industrial estates and large distribution centres operated by the obvious names.

Due to a negative experience I had overflying a manufacturing company’s factory a couple weeks ago, I’m quite nervous about working around these distribution centres due to the security presence in the area. Does anyone have any advice on how to proceed? I’m trying to understand this from the perspective of the security staff but fundamentally, I don’t think there’s any legislation that prevents me from flying near these buildings.

Could the legislation around crowds apply? (The vast majority of the people in question would be safely inside the building).

Is there a minimum height from the buildings’ roofs that I should consider?

I intend to take off and land on a public bridleway.

Any advice or insight would be very welcome as I want to approach this in the correct way and upset as few people as possible.

Many thanks

1 Like

No because they are in the building

Not legally no

Go at weekends, or prepare to stand your ground, the rules are on your side

4 Likes

I would have a video camera on standby incase there is confrontation.

Like @milkmanchris says :+1:

I am going to be flamed :fire::fire::fire::fire::fire: look at the knobhead dji audit on YouTube as it will be the quickest way to understand how much rights you have, ignore the pricks provocation and just watch his flights :roll_eyes::sunglasses::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like