Losing your drone

Hi Guys

just thought I’d share a tip with you. Some of you may already know this and probably do it.

I am a total newbie to drones but have been into action filming and photography for some years. Now losing your GO-Pro was something I did a few times and was common practice for a lot of us. However, on a number of occasions, I came across posts on forums and on Facebook where someone had found a Go-Pro in a rockpool by someone snorkelling or halfway up a rockface.

It was always the same scenario, someone finds it, charges it, powers it on unless it was smashed, but they were always able to post pictures of an individual or individuals on the SDCard. Appearing under the “headline GO-Pro found do you know this person”. Sometimes the search was successful and Go-Pro returned. Other times no such luck. At £250 a throw it’s an expensive bit of kit to lose’ Go-Pro 4/5 back then. Just like your drone is now.

It occurred to me that if you marked it up, you’d have a better chance of getting it back, but being only a small item you couldn’t exactly put your name on it. The one thing that was consistent, even when the camera was found and it was badly damaged. The memory card was always intact a bit like a plane’s Blackbox.

I, therefore, added a folder to my SDcard named Owner Info. Inside I put a word document with my name, address, mobile number and email. This folder was only 12kb in size. So took up no room at all on a 128GB microSD. Obviously, this relies on a person’s honesty, but if they have a name and number you do increase the likely hood of getting it back. I have done this on all my MicroSD cards.

However, I will just point out that if you format your SDcard mid-flight you will lose this info. So will need to add it once you’ve completed your flight. I always RTH my drone and swap the card as I don’t like to fill it completely. If I’m nearly done I will switch to the internal memory, but that’s only 8GB