Lost signal dji mavic air 2

Flying on farm land yesterday .300 feet high 3000 feet distance. Lost signal rth as normal .only a powerline between me and the drone. Would this be a factor in loss of signal?

I’d suggest flying a Mavic Air a kilometre away with only CE power was the cause of the signal loss.

1 Like

Whats CE power .I’m new to all this buddy :+1:

It’s a limitation on the amount of output power the transmitter / controller can use in the UK.

In the USA, they can use FCC levels of power output, which are much higher than the CE power levels used in the UK.

When DJI et al advertise the maximum distance / range of a drone they’ll always quote FCC figures :confused:

Eg:

1 Like

Ok .ty .what can I do to get longer range or cant I. Cheers

You can buy hardware, power-amplified antenna kits. Have a look at Alientech as just one example:

1 Like

As above, try one of the Alientech Duo II kits, tried mine properly for the first time today, managed to get 22,000 ft out, no loss of signal both ways, had to come back only because I didn’t want to risk battery draining to zero

2 Likes

Possibly a daft question but how are you guys flying VLOS at these distances?

2 Likes

Illegally

2 Likes

At the distances in the above screen shot, you’re probably not flying VLOS at all (during daylight hours at least).

At the 1km distances being discussed in the first post you could maintain VLOS with strobes quite easily during the day. And way beyond that distance at night.

If you’re flying an Inspire your VLOS will be around 2km without even needing strobes.

So many variables / combinations eh?

An important factor of powered / amplified antennas is to cut through the noise at short distances too, not just for long range use.

I used to fly a corridor that was a killer for wifi, the Mini 1 signal would crap out at just 100m or so. The Mavic Pro 500m and the signal would die.