New flyer from Stockport

Hello!

I bought a DJI Mini 2 last week after watching many, many Youtubers rave on about it (I may be a sucker for advertising!). I’m also a hobbyist landscape photographer and figured that a drone would help me take this hobby to the next level.

I didn’t really think to look up drone restrictions before buying it so after reading that National Trust and the Peak District don’t really allow for drone flying, and given their prevalence in my local area, I am honestly feeling a bit dejected, especially as I can’t really think of where’s good/safe/allowed for my first proper flight.

Any suggestions on locations in the Stockport/Cheshire/Peak District areas to go for flights would be very much appreciated!

1 Like

Pick somewhere quiet in the PD, it’s a big old place and you’ll be fine

1 Like

Hey @calisaurus welcome to GADC! National Trust don’t allow you to take off or to control your drone while on their land but if you can find somewhere nearby thats public access like say a public footpath thats not on their land they can’t stop you flying over their property :wink: Just remember to follow the drone code and you’ll be fine. Also try flying these places really early in the morning when no one is around to complain. The Mini 2 has been getting rave reviews from members on here too so I think you have made a great choice of drone :+1:t2:

4 Likes

Hi welcome to the drone scene, like yourself I’m new to the scene, I live near Romiley & fly a Mavic 2 Pro, not too bad for places to fly by me, having great fun with mine, drop me a pm if you fancy a flight around here sometime, Tony

1 Like

Welcome Hannah to GADC.

As mentioned above, whilst they do not like you taking off from their land, they can’t prevent you from flying over it.

Just comply with the Drone Code and you will be fine :slight_smile:

1 Like

Greetings from the Black Country! Stockport you might be in the Manchester Airport area, just check before you fly.