New from Aylesbury with a few pre-purchase questions

Hi All,
I’m delighted to join and become part of the Grey Arrows community. I’ve been researching getting into recreational droning for a while but haven’t yet purchased - I had sort of settled on a DJI Mini 2 before hearing rumours that a Mini 3 pro was imminent. Since that is now available I am almost ready to go. I’m a keen amateur photographer so am looking forward to taking to the skies, which will add a whole new dimension.

Before I buy, can I just check my understanding of the rules is correct.
Q1. The DJI Mini 3 Pro is <250g and so many of the restrictions don’t apply. So, it appears
a) I don’t need an operator ID or a Flyer ID (although is it still good practice to do so?)
b) I can fly in residential areas
c) I can fly near or even above other people or crowds without specific 50m distance restriction
d) I don’t need any insurance (although it is probably prudent)

But…
e) I obviously need to respect privacy when photographing/filming
f) must not cause annoyance or danger to others
g) even with <250g I still can’t fly in a NFZ (for example, there is a NFZ near me for a small RAF owned light aircraft airfield which extends to cover my local park, even though it is almost two miles away. The NFZ says SFC to 2000ft - does this really mean I can’t even fly a tiny drone on the local park without first getting approval from the controller?)

Q2. Is it worth becoming a member of FPV?

Q3. Are there any other obvious major things I ought to be aware of before jumping in (apart from the practicalities of learning how to fly and how to get the best out of the camera)? What did you wish you knew before you started?

Many thanks in advance, and looking forward to learning lots!

Simon

1 Like

Hi @simon2222 and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

Have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. :+1:t2: