Newbee'ish from Leicestershire

Hi everyone,
I’m Gary from Leicestershire. I’ve been a professional photographer for ten years and I’m dipping my toes into aerial photography with a Mavic Air 2. I’ve passed my A2CofC, have my Flyer and Operator ID and plan to get insurance on a daily basis if I get a job.
Is it just me or does anyone else find droning a minefield? There seem to be so many ifs, whats and maybes. And most people who don’t fly a drone automatically seems to hate them.
Anyway, I’ve taken a few aerial shots whilst on shoots which you can see on this page: Aerial Photography — SMD Photography - Leicester Photographer
After doing the A2CofC course, I’m now starting to wonder if the shots over the bridge and marina were legal!
If aerial photography is a viable addition to my business I’ll start looking at a more pro spec drone. Although, I must say, the Mavic Air 2 is very capable. The only downside I can see so far is that the images are quite grainy in the shadows.
I’ve waffled again but it’s good to be part of the group!

7 Likes

Hi Gary @SMD and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

There’s a fair amount to it, for sure :slight_smile:

We can help with some of it though, check this out:

And have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. Feel free to add yourself to the members map too :+1:t2:

We’re a well established club with many knowledgable members so it’s very likely that any issues you come across will have been discussed here before. Our discussion forum has very powerful search features which should help you find what you need but if you get stuck you can post a new question in the Questions & Answers category.

Looking for recommendations of places to fly? Check out our interactive map on Drone Scene - be sure to log in to gain access to the full suite of features and map layers:

And please feel free to add locations of your own too.