Range anxiety

I’m new to drones and I really wanted to get a Mini 2 - i looks great. But it costs £500 with the Fly More pack and I couldn’t justify the cost if this turns out to be a hobby I don’t get into.

So I’ve ordered a Holystone 720G which seemed to have good reviews, support and was almost half the price. When I was looking at the specs, it states an FPV range of ~500m which I thought would be ok for me (I mostly want it for taking videos of my car).

But having watched a few awesome videos taken flying over estuaries, for example, I can imagine 500m isn’t much?

As a beginner, do you think that range will be a problem?

1 Like

I’ve not seen a 720G in the flesh, is it big? Can see it further than 500m away?

It’s only a problem if you want to fly further than the range your drone supports :person_shrugging:t2:

Don’t forget too, all manufacturers specs are quoted in laboratory conditions. If manufacturer says their drone will do 8 miles, it’ll only 5 miles in the real world. It’s the same with cars and they’re quoted MPG, you can slash 30% off it in the real world eh?

1 Like

It’s a similar size to the Mini2, I think - weighs 377g officially.

My eyesight isn’t great, I doubt I’ll be able to see anything more than 200 metres away, hence the FPV range being important.

I have no initial plans to go that far but just wondered how far others go, on average? 500m sounds like a lot but maybe it’s not?

1 Like

Relegated to flying in the countryside then.

2 Likes

Will your spotter be able to see it 500m away?

Where I’m heading with this… vlos may be an issue before the transmitter power of your drone is an issue :slight_smile:

Did you buy it from Amazon, Argos, etc? Can you easily return it if the range does cause you problems?

3 Likes

Too many people get fixated on range. A camera drone is to all intents and purposes a flying tripod or a cable cam minus the cable. There’s nothing more boring than watching a video of a Drone being range tested.