Snake pass, Derbyshire

I had to be quick with this one as it was raining. Taken with the Canon 400d and 15-55mm lens.

6 Likes

Ah! I remember many years ago when I was at the university of Sheffield, I had a crazy idea to mountain bike it to my mums home in St. Helens over Snakes Pass. Walked up some of it :grin:
And the steep descents were scary as the brakes were wet from the drizzle. I did about 80 miles I think on my bike computer.
I was proper shattered. Somehow got lost and ended up in Warrington at some point too.
Lovely road. Unless there’s a tit behind you in a golf.

3 Likes

I was a student in Manchester. My girlfriend of the time lived in Lincoln. I drove back over the Snake on a summer morning at just past sparrow fart singing to myself as my Commer PB van didn’t have any other sounds.

Apart from an annoying hiss every time I went round a corner. There are plenty of corners on the Snake. I was really enjoying the drive, singing my little heart out and feeling decideldy happy. Even the hiss every time I went left or right didn’t worry me - until I suddenly had a sobering thought. I stopped in a layby and checked behind my seat. Rollling around with the cap off was an aerosol can which meant that every time i cornered the nozzle hit the seat frame and a little of the contents were released

Easy Start is almost pure ether …

3 Likes

Commer CB camper van :+1: did yours have the column shift gear stick Never did understand why they didn’t take of here like they did in U.S loved Column change

It was a few years ago so memory is hazy. It had the narrow front track and a Perkins 4.108 diesel. I used to have a Vauxhall 101 estate with column change. the linkage used to regularly become disconnected which meant I had to lie alongside and reach underneath to press a ball end back into a nylon socket in order to enjoy all three gears :slight_smile: