The sky's the limit, right? - Leigh, Lancashire

Not huge on introductions, so I’ll keep it short and sweet.

I’m totally new to the drone scene, having just bought my first one this week and still yet to fly it. I thought it would be wise to read some stuff first and familiarise myself with all the rules and regs.

I’m located in Leigh, Lancashire, and any advice/guidance on where I can and can’t fly safely locally would be appreciated.

Cheers, and thanks for having me.

2 Likes

welcome

I am sure a admin will be along soon. You have not said what drone but a good starting point would be The Drone and Model Aircraft Code | UK Civil Aviation Authority

as to where to fly have a look at the drone scene uses your member ship from here https://dronescene.co.uk

Have fun be safe to yourself and others.

Adrian

1 Like

Thanks for the warm welcome Adrian.

The drone is just a basic beginner’s and nothing fancy. It’s the HolyStone HS720E.

Thanks for the info links!

Again not aware of the Holystone 720, I basically have a cheap Snaptain SP650 until I can decide if I wish to go further and i found it is very confusing to begin with, (an age thing?).

A few sites and pdf’s that may help along the way
https://c0drone.com/ This is useful to determine that class of drone and also
https://publicapps.caa.co.uk/docs/33/CAP2003_EU_Drone_Rules_Factsheet_V7%201.pdf
CAP2008: Drone Rules: THE NEW UAS REGULATIONS
CAP2012: Drone Rules: REQUIREMENTS FOR FLYING IN THE OPEN CATEGORY

These are CAP2003, CAP2008 and CAP2012 which I have all printed and keep with me as well as the CAA drone stuff Op ID flyer ID and Public insurance from FPV.

This is all in case of the Karen’s that are around.

have fun.

I will now go off and look at your drone!

Adrian