Tips for Orientation and spacial awareness

I now have 2 hours flying as a new drone pilot! Orientation and spacial awareness are key skill that I recognise are essential. What are the key tips for improving these skills that others have found useful?

6 Likes

Teach yourself to fly circles around yourself , nose in and nose out.

Then figures of 8 with you as the crossover point.

Forget the screen, watch the drone, learn what the warning lights mean.

Get a head for heights , take it up to what you think is 10, 20 120 metres then check against the app, same with distances away from you.

It gets easier with practice

12 Likes

As a newbie myself that’s a great question!
Some good tips there too, thank you.

3 Likes

Yes practice practice practice! I have done squares, using the line markings on a football pitch. I did try a circle but not very successfully. Cheers feedback appreciated.

2 Likes

Yea ive done the football pitch lines it a good practice

A good tip…
If you think you have lost control, let go of the sticks. Then roll left. If your drone doesn’t roll left, yaw left until it does. Then you know its pointing away from you.

3 Likes

I’ll remember this, makes sense.

Wish had known this last October lol… Learn that one haha

As a fairly new pilot, I think my biggest “ahhhhhhh…okayyyy” moment, was when I started using the map. This will tell you which way you are facing currently and what your most direct route to home is. There are lots of YouTube vids on it and once you start using it, you feel a lot more confident about knowing where you are in the sky!

2 Likes

Brilliant advice thank you I’m also very much a learner and want to sharpen up my general handling :+1:

1 Like

All well and good. The compass is even better in the FLY app, but don’t rely on the screen.

You need to be able to fly if the app crashes (or your device dies)

1 Like

You mean WHEN, surely? :smile:

2 Likes