Where to start with commercial work?

Hi

I have a DJI mini 3 pro. Where would I start with commercial work? Is it something I could offer? Reading posts I have seen that photogrophers offer drone work as an add on to their business. If i were to offer a service, what could that be when i am just starting out?
Thank you in advance.

Hi @Lowries and welcome to GADC

Big question. its been covered lots and a search brings up most of what you need

Firstly insurance is a must for commercial work.

What is your line of work?, do you see a gap in the market/area for your expertise?, what experience do you have ?

1 Like

Hi @milkmanchris
I am a primary school supply teacher. I’m not sure if I have experiences that will feed naturally into drone work.

1 Like

Do you have anything in mind? photography, mapping, surveying ?

I was thinking of photography. I am enjoying flying my drone and taking photographs and videos.

First of all, you have to work out and know what’s going to set your work apart from all the other commercial and amateur drone operators out there, those on YouTube included. Do you have experience in aerial photography/videography? If not how are you going to gain it? Then you have to work out and know how to pitch those skills you’ve gained and learned and get them noticed, no easy task in itself. You also have to ask yourself what should be your hourly or daily business rate and why any client should pay what you’re asking for as opposed to someone cheaper because the days of any single person or commercial design/publishing business hiring a professional aerial photographer or videographer at the rates you’d have to charge to make a decent living from are numbered when they can scour YouTube, Vimeo, and the other social media hosting sites and contact the multitude of semi-skilled drone operators direct and just ask for the footage to be shot at a discounted price.