Would you change this prop

The mini2 is flying fine but when checking over this morning before heading out, I noticed a prop with a tiny little nick out of it. I can’t remember hitting anything but must have at some point. I wasn’t going to bother changing it but I’m going to be flying over water this afternoon so thought better safe than sorry. Would you guys have bothered?

1 Like

I’m with you on that one … I check them over very carefully before each flight (I am very new to this).
As I see it, its a lot better to ‘waste’ a new prop, than have some sort of failure when out over water!
I’d keep the ‘damaged’ prop as a ‘just in case’ spare.

1 Like

I don’t think that amount of damage to the prop tip would cause a “failure”, but a possible consequence would be vibration. That could cause issues with video (jello) and photos (blurring) with exposures of longer than about 1/500 sec. .

More important, since it must have clipped something, will be to double check the pivots at the motor end, and the actual fitting to the motor, for any cracks. That’s where “failure” would be most likely to happen.

1 Like

mmhhh, I have actually noticed some of my photos are a little “soft” lately. I’ll be honest and say that I don’t really check props very often, seeing as they’re pretty fundamental to flying and more importantly, not crashing, I should check them more often. Can’t see any other damage under magnifying glass so should be good to go.

1 Like

… if you need yo ask :sunglasses: you know you should swap it :+1:t2: blades are cheaper than possible alternative :boom: or your once in a lifetime shot that’s ruined because of vibration. Change it and get out there and enjoy yourself :blush::ok_hand:t3:

2 Likes

A blade on a real heli for instance…if it has a smallest nick is changed as it upsets the flow of air. and an aircraft engine is removed and checked for stress if the prop has hit anything like the ground on a hard landing…