Alton Barnes and Barbury Castle - Wiltshire

Another attempt at few shots on a nice day and little attempt at editing! Getting there slowly, long way to go!

7 Likes

Oh mate, this was painful to watch for me. I don’t want to deter you because I’m a beginner too, but I think you shot yourself in the foot! You’ve uploaded this to YT where they have thousands of good advice vids on cameras, drones and editing and apparently you ignored them all. I think you are trying to run before you can walk.
This is constructive criticism as I never posted my first flights because I didn’t feel they were up to a half decent standard and were certainly not as jerky as this one is.
We all have to learn and we all get better with practice but I don’t think anyone likes to see a poorly made video. Just my opinion.

2 Likes

Thank you for the feedback! I know I have a long way to go in learning to master the art of drone filming and editing. As for posting it on YouTube, just because there are better ones around doesn’t mean I ll not upload! It’s called learning curve.

2 Likes

Footage is nice mate, don’t be deterred we all start somewhere.

My advice is be careful with slowing down and speeding up too much as depending on how many fps you shoot in will determine how far you can adjust. Hence the jittery footage at points.

Keep practicing and uploading it’s always good to refer back too and plus not everyone who starts off editing and flying are professionals despite what YT will have you believe

1 Like

Perhaps my standards are too high then. I believe that if I do something then I want it done right, no matter how long or arduous it takes. It has taken me 2 years just to get to grips with Da Vinci Resolve and I’m retired so have spent many hours with it. I also do a lot of research to better myself regarding photography and videography.