Avoiding PFCO requirements

Sorry for the long winded question, but if anyone with commercial drone experience could assist it would be appreciated.

Firstly, to clarify, I am not interested in commercial flying.

As part of my job as an engineering consultant I have access to clients across the country with interesting sites and buildings. Some of them have offered to let me film in proximities and areas that would be unavailable to the typical hobby flyer. In exchange they would want access to videos and pictures I would take to use for commercial purposes (put on the website etc). I would use the vids for compilations on my non monetized youtube (i.e hobby purposes only). No monies/goods/favours would change hands but the individuals giving permission would be clients conducting separate business with me on the engineering side. I am not offering the service as an addition to our current works or an incentivisation to maintain contract retention etc.

Am I in the clear if I persue these opportunities?

Thanks for any guidance you all may be able to provide :grinning:

Hi Richard.

Unfortunately I canā€™t comment on the current regulations pertaining to what you currently have in mind, but for future reference it might be in your favour to keep an eye on the future EASA proposals as we get closer to June 2020.

One thing Iā€™m led to believe is that there maybe a sub 900g category whereby a PFCO will not be required to undertake some commercial work. I donā€™t think it will be a complete free for all but rather some form of online registration and test. Maybe something similar to the Part107 thing they had in the States.

Regards

Nidge.

1 Like

I suppose those proposals will be decided by the Brexit process if It ever happens!

Iā€™d say this would be counted as needing PFCO imho.

If you are making a flight that you know the resulting footage shot is going to be used for commercial purposes then you need that PFCO (as I understand it).