Copyrighting video and photos for PFCO work in progress

I am just starting out in the world of PFCO flying and am slowly getting to grips with most aspects of flying for commercial gain. One issue i need some help with is this:

I am making videos and taking pictures for clients. At some point in the progress I have to send them copies of works in progress for approval or guidance, before it becomes a paid product. How do I protect myself against an unscrupulous client using pics or video without paying for it?

I do already watermark my video footage, and I have started posting approval video footage on password protected vimeo pages which are locked against downloading.Is there some sort of copyright protection I can invoke or remind a client of as part of my taking on the work so that I donā€™t get ripped off in mid commission if someone were to get hold of my work and use it without working?

1 Like

Whacking great ā€˜SAMPLEā€™ watermarks diagonally across the middle from edge to edge :+1:t2:

You can make them opaque to a degree, so they can still see the footage for what it is, but thereā€™s no way they can avoid the fact itā€™s a watermark!

1 Like

From a legal standpoint, I canā€™t advise.

Iā€™ll guess ā€œyesā€, maybe just via Ts & Cs of the contract, but Iā€™m sure someone here will know the answer :slight_smile:

I used to work in commercial photography many years ago. So a slightly FULL answer.
Legally you donā€™t have to copyright your work,
All your work is automatically copyrighted.
(There used to be a good many ā€˜so calledā€™ copyright companies who would gladly charge for the service, avoid them, you donā€™t need them, they are just rip offs).
In order to identify your work, a watermark is advisable and all thatā€™s really required apart from the contract.(more about that later)
It has a twofold effect, it is an identifier unique to yourself, and it shows the client that you are aware and protected under copyright law.