DRL Sim vs. LiftOff

I’ve done most of my virtual learning in LiftOff so far, but having picked up DRL Sim cheaply a few weeks ago I finally found some time to try it out this weekend.

I should start by saying I’ve only flown Acro in LiftOff.

The first couple of hours in DRL Sim were spent going through the tutorials, which I’m sure are great for an absolute beginner but with all the training aids enabled I found very frustrating. To the extent that when I went to free roam in Acro it had completely screwed up my muscle memory and it took a while to get control back.

The last thing I did with DRL was try the “Solo Race”. I chose the Devil’s Backbone in Campgrounds. After many attempts I have only cleared this without crashing twice. My best time is 1 min 15 seconds. #1 on the leader board is 22 seconds, which, even allowing for a huge skill gap, seems ridiculous.

Anyway, I then went back to LiftOff to do a comparison. These are my impressions.

Control/response wise, they seem very similar. I’m probably not skilled enough yet to notice any minute differences.

DRL seems much more forgiving of collisions. If you clip something in LiftOff you’re going down and will likely end up upside-down. While DRL will bounce you and mess up your head with a sudden orientation change, there’s more of a chance you’ll be able to recover and keep flying. I tried one of the races in LiftOff for the first time - choosing what I take to be the easiest: the first one in the straw bales field - and I don’t think I once made it to the 3rd gate. Granted, the gates are less than a quarter of the size of those in the ‘easy’ DRL race.

I’ve read a lot online as to which the ‘best’/most realistic FPV sim is and, of course, opinion is hugely divided, to the point where I’m fairly sure it’s about 50:50 between “DRL is ace, LiftOff is pants” and vice versa. For me, they both seem very similar.