East Devon District Council Drone Policy

Dear all, newbie here.
I believe I saw a query about EDDC a while ago concerning their Drone policy.
I have spoken to them because they are / were / and still unclear about their Drone policy. This came about because a resident tried to remove me from a recreational area I was well within the CAA rules for flying my DJI mini 2 drone. I dibdny t want any trouble bit sought the views of EDDC and their Done Policy.

Quite frankly although I am a newbie I knew far more than they do about it

The following is cut and pasted from an e mail I received today. It may be useful to those in East Devon

6 Likes

Keep that in your bag ;o)

Offer them some help producing it :+1:

3 Likes

Itā€™s a shame you didnā€™t stand your ground with the resident, he probably thinks heā€™s in the right now, whereas he was in the wrong for even disturbing you while flying and acting without lawful authority for removing you. Quite simply, for any council to ban drones, they have to have a byelaw, which will have to have gone through the proper legal channels of government, a very long and expensive process. A council can have as many policies as it likes, they arenā€™t enforceable.

1 Like

THIS :point_up:t2:

Thanks for sharing @997Drone

1 Like

What about PSPOs?

Iā€™m in Brent, London and theyā€™ve put a Public Spaces Protection Order in place covering all Brent parks that forbids all drone use without written consent. Itā€™s in place for 3 years from Sep 2019.

Sadly PSPOs seem to be easier for councils to bring in than a new byelaw. Hope this practice doesnā€™t spread.

1 Like

I was flying at a location before this lockdown - a disused airfield that does have a flying policy and does allow flying.

Then this nasty women appears - she works there as a warden. She insisted we were not allowed to fly and tried her hardest to stop us.

So we found the byelaws that were on her own website. FFS!