Flying in yellow zones

I’m visiting family in Skegness in a couple of weeks and taking it as an opportunity to go fly my drone in a new area too!

Looking at Drone Scene, the beach right next to their house seems to fall within both a yellow warning zone for ‘Training’ and ‘Airport’ and also a DJI yellow zone.

So 2 questions on this as I’m fairly new to this!

1. Can you still fly within a yellow zone, it appears to me as more of a warning to be more aware for other aerial vehicles
  2. Similar question again but does the DJI yellow zone physically restrict you from flying or just impose a warning/height restriction?

It actually isn’t too far a walk to get out of all the yellow zones so I’m likely to take this option but I’m interested to learn about the above as there are similar restrictions around my local area

Here’s my attempt at copying the area link; Where can I fly my drone in the UK? - View this shared location on Drone Scene!

Thanks!

After more digging, I’ve found the answer to the DJI yellow zones on the helpful About section for Drone Scene!

So just need clarification on the other yellow section!

1 Like

This is one of the things I found hardest to get to grips with when I was starting out. So much of the information you find is worded vaguely. Even FRZs say, “…operation of your drone may be hazardous or prohibited.” I find this very mild language for an area where flying may be a criminal offence that could land you in prison!

The more experienced seem to suggest that the yellow zones are more of an indication that you should definitely keep your wits about you, but you’re okay to fly there.

I tend to use these overlays as a default, which I believe to be the most important ones.

In the case of your location, I was surprised that it’s just a yellow zone because it’s for an airfield. It may only be a couple of strips in a field, but that’s more or less what Derby airfield is, and that has a full-on FRZ.

A little research: