Frustrated with rules & regulations

HI everyone. I’m new to the drone scene - bought a Mavic 2 Zoom a couple of weeks ago and I must say, I love flying, but I am finding it very frustrating with all the rules/regs and also the negative perception of drones in the community.

I live in Windsor, Berkshire, so the places to fly are limited (I’ve found runnymede pleasure ground and Eton Wick Fields). Both of which get very busy with dog walkers etc. So although I’m flying legally, i seem to just get snarled at and made to feel like a nuisance.

Having spent nearly £1400 on the drone and fly more kit plus insurance, I feel like returning the drone and getting my money back, as the stress of flying outweighs the pleasure of getting nice shots and enjoying it in general.

With the scene being so limited around where I live, the only time I think i’d get value from the drone is when I’m on holiday, and with that being typically 2-3 times a year, it feels like i’m not really getting all that much value from my investment.

Anyone feel similarly or have any advice before I pack it all up and send it back to DJI for a refund?

Thanks
Eric

6 Likes

Well that sounds like a real shame. I must admit that I try in general to keep away from the “public” when I’ve been out with my drones. I’m lucky enough to live in an area where this is possible though.
You could try making contact with a local land owner and see if they’ll grant permission (maybe a small farm would be an idea) As for being snarled yet that could just be your own perception playing tricks on you but if you do feel you are being judged you could try the old photographers trick and wear an ID badge lanyard and a hi Viz vest. You’d be surprised how people suddenly become less interested if you look “official” Just make sure you are in an area where you are allowed to be. Best of luck.
PS most people think rights are there only to protect them and their own interests…we all have rights and we can all get on. :+1: