Have I just messed up by buying DJI FPV Drone?

I will start by stating fpv is all new to me, please be gentle.

I have bought the DJI FPV Drone Combo kit, comes with goggles and remote. I was under the impression I could use these with another self build or bnf/rtf, as there are a few options with HD transmitters and some.branded DJI FPV.

Am I wrong in this assumption…? I was hoping to do some searches on the forum and possibly annoy you guys with a typical I’m new to fpv build post, maybe a 3inch or 5 inch self build or pre built and recommendations on those.

It’s all so very confusing, so much info, so little time!!! So much money!! Haha

The goggles will work with a HD BnF but the radio will not. So you’ll need to buy a radio and a compatible receiver to go in the quad or buy the dedicated DJI FPV Radio. Or other options include Crossfire by Team Black Sheep (TBS) is one of the most popular control links due to its un matched range and penetration. But there are plenty of other options like ImmersionRC Ghost these are the newer technologies but some of the older stuff is cheaper but not as good like FrSky.

Any questions just ask away here and we’ll be glad to point you in the right direction :+1:t2:

6 Likes

I’m still a newbie too, but here’s my experience…

I’ve recently picked up a set of DJI version 1 goggles, controller and air unit and I’m having fun with then on my own builds. The DJI Quad comes with Version 2 goggles but you can still link those to an air unit. I picked up my DJI radio off eBay for £200 so it’s not much (I accidentally picked up the more ergonomic DJI FPV radio first before realising it wouldn’t work with the air unit but luckily got an easy refund before it even arrived…!)

I’ve noticed people using other systems for control, like crossfire, and I do wonder why that is when there DJI system is fully integrated with great range? (Btw, unlocking is v easy)