Hi all!

Hello folks. I’m very new to the drone world & looking to buy my first ‘proper’ drone, just as soon as I can work out whether to get an Mavic Pro or Air! Right now I’ve just got a Syma XH5C, just because I wanted to get a toy that flew and I could crash that rather than something considerably more expensive! Good decision - I’ve crashed that many times and I’m pleased to report that it bounces.

Pleased to meet you all.

1 Like

Welcome :+1:

Welcome, @PaperCrane, great to have you with us. You may be the first member to mention having the choice of the Mavic Air as your first ‘proper’ drone. :slight_smile:

Whether you get the Pro or the Air I’d advise that you get out the of the habit of crashing your drone pretty quickly! It’s different when you watch several hundred pounds crash to earth and become plastic confetti. :slight_smile: (Please note that DJI drones rarely do this and are basically tough old birds.)

Thanks both!

I’m pleased to say I’ve got out of the habit of crashing these days. I just wanted to make sure I started with something that I wouldn’t mind if i binned it. Or when my 11 year old son said ‘can I have a go Dad’ and promptly got it stuck in an oak tree.

I agree that intelligent flight modes aren’t a replacement for common sense, looking around you and not flying like a muppet, but I can see them helping at first. It’s much easier to learn to ride a bike with the stabilisers on. Nobody leaves them there forever!

1 Like

Hi @PaperCrane and welcome to Grey Arrows :smiley:

That’s probably a tough choice at the moment…

I’m not sure about release dates but I’m guessing it’ll be +3 months before the first Air’s land in the UK (see what I did there?) and +6 months before they’re readily available.

Can you wait that long?

Although, given the weather over the last couple of months, you’ll not be flying anything any time soon :cry: