Holy Stone HS700

Hi all, I’m a newbie on here at the proud age of 65. Not really sure if this is the right place to post this?
I wonder if anyone has experience with any of the following?
Holy stone hs700
Potensic d85
Mjxrc bug 4 are the ones I had a good look at as a first drone.
Any pointers will be appreciated
Thanks

1 Like

How do youngster!

I would be inclined to ignore the aircraft you have mentioned and aim slightly higher in the price range. Although all may be excellent craft I am not sure of the level of support from either the manufacturers or the flying community. For all DJI’s faults they have become the worlds largest manufacturer through a combination of quality and innovation.

I went down the same road of looking at all kinds of cheap drones, from the cheap ones advertised with pictures taken from another manufacturer to the more expensive machines from lesser-known manufacturers. I eventually spent out on a DJI Mavic Air.

With the new Mavic Mini coming on the market at a £400 price point I would expect the second-hand prices of DJI kit to come down. And after Christmas, when some people have lost interest in their shiny new presents there may be bargains to be had.

The Mavic family make excellent first drones and you won’t quickly “outgrow” them or wish for more capability from them.

Others may differ!

2 Likes

Thank you for that macspite, I’ll have a look at those mavic ones too!!

Sage advice from @macspite.

Here are my thoughts.

The models you referenced, @Sundowner, may have reasonable flying characteristics but I think you’ll find that the photo/video capabilities will be sadly lacking. They all have a fixed camera mounting (no stabilisation)and low grade optics, and I’d take the claimed resolutions with a pinch of salt.