Is DNG file / photo a RAW file

Sorry to ask this question and sorry if it has been discussed before, I did check so I hope I haven’t over looked the question, if so please don’t hesitate to remove.

Ok, so I’ve just got round to putting an sd card into a MacBook, which I have never done before to try and edit photo / photos, the pictures are there but say Dng not Raw would this be the same as raw,
I am not using any special editing software at the moment, I would just like to know if this is what raw files are or do I need to do something in order for them to display as raw, i e convert.
Would really appreciate to know if this is normal and if this is what I should be working with, I know very little about files but I know jpeg is the lesser quality, just looking for the better files for edit.
Many thanks

1 Like

DNG is a RAW file yes

No special software needed (for basic stuff)

3 Likes

Thankyou very much @milkmanchris,:blush:

Thanks for the info on using RAW in the MacOS Photos app… I didn’t know about the option to use RAW as the original :slight_smile:

1 Like

Nothing special needed for basic edits in Windows 10/11.

The default Photos program works OK - for the most basic of adjustments.

2 Likes

That’s handy to know, I also have windows and I did not know this option was there, at least to get me started.
Thanks for sharing :+1:t2:

1 Like

There are free options, but if you get serious about editing, something like Adobe Lightroom Classic, Photoshop or Lightroom are available on subscription for a tenner a month. Once you’ve seen what can be done with a well exposed Raw file, it’s hard to put up with the JPGs. It does take time though.

1 Like

Thanks @BingBong, yes I did subscribe to that package just over a month ago but not used it yet :grimacing:, it does look more complicated which is understandable, i thought if I learn the basics and what exactly does what just for now as previously, everything has been jpeg on my phone,