Looking for advice on Norway

Hi all,

I am planning a short trip to Norway in early June and as I am going only for 3 days I want to make the most of it while staying out of trouble. One of my strong motivations to go is that I have read Norway has more tolerant rules for drone flying. And the scenery makes me drool, of course. Hopefully my Mini 3 Pro will arrive before I go but if not I will take the Mini 2. This will be the first trip where I leave my mirrorless home and only take the drone.

My plan is to spend a day in Oslo and about 2 days in Bergen. I am flying so won’t have a car, only public transport.

I would appreciate any advice on:

• good spots for flying and photography
  • anything to avoid or watch out for
  • any general tips for Norway

Although, I am a very new drone pilot (see my thread on hitting a tree with my first flight) recently I tasted blood in Isle of Skye and now I am completely hooked.

Been reading the posts here as well and you guys have a lot of good stuff to share. I really dig the vibe of this club and keep coming back to read more. Plus the dronescene is just fantastic.

Please share anything you can.

Thank you.

1 Like

You will need to register with EASA. Suggest ether Ireland or Luxembourg.

Drones contains more information from the CAA in Norway.

3 Likes

Thanks.

I do love Norway. Gorgeous part of the world.

If you’re after some scenery, maybe consider the train from Oslo to Bergen and schedule in a stop at Flåm. The Flåm railway (Flåmsbana) is really special if you like that sort of thing. If the timing works, you could even (and this one is less drone, more the experience) get the ferry from Flåm to Bergen for some amazing scenery.

1 Like