Max UAV modified Mavic air controller.. Help?

So I’ve seen this modified Mavic air controller at nearly 400 euro but as I’m new to this I really want more understanding. Is this controller already adapted to accept antenna like the 4 hawks etc, meaning you wouldn’t actually need a 4 hawks kit as most of it is pre done. Also can you expect huge difference over stock controller, like does it really work. Sorry if this sounds stupid I’m just trying to get more information on this new hobby and I see many of you talking about these things and I want better understanding :slight_smile:
https://www.maxxuav.eu/products/modified-dji-mavic-air-remote-control

Yeah it’s basically a new controller with the stock antenna removed and rerouted to external connectors.

You can then use whatever compatible antenna you like.

The best and cheapest range mod for us in the UK is probably getting the controller to output in FCC power mode. 0.4w compared to CE 0.1w.

I was curious about the mods with 3w boosters so emailed the manufacturer.

The output power is proportional to input power so basically to get the full 3W you would need to be in FCC mode.

On my MP doing a test in FCC mode with stock controller I managed to maintain video feed for 4.3 miles. Lucky to get 2 normally.

Plenty range for me.

Not sure about the Air but I’d look into FCC mode before a modified controller. You might find that’s plenty.

1 Like

And if you are thinking of ordering from MaxxUAV, don’t forget the Grey Arrows discount code: https://greyarro.ws/t/maxxuav-exclusive-gadc-discount-code/2032

:+1:

1 Like