Moving programs off my MacBook Pro M2 to an external ssd

Hello :smiley:

I have four programs on my MacBook Pro that I don’t use but I don’t want to just delete them as they was quite expensive, reason I am trying to do it is to free up space as they use quite a bit of ram, I’ve never done this before so I have no clue, also as these programs frequently have updates I don’t know if they have to be on my mac to be updated or can be on the external ssd & be updated when plugged in, this is very new territory for me so pleases excuse, I then want to completely delete the programs from my mac to free up space as said, is this possible would anyone know, or is there part of the programs that needs to stay on the mac for the programs to work from the ssd if & when I try to use them, ( if that makes sense )
If it is possible is it easy steps would anyone know,
Programs I am trying to move off my mac is from topaz labs photo editing software which again eats up ram, any advice / steps in the right direction would be really appreciated,
Many thanks

1 Like

If you own them, I am sure they will be downloadable again, nearly all apps nowadays are downloadable, who uses CD’s or Bluray’s nowadays.
Check each programs website and check the availability of downloads, and if they can be downloaded, make sure you have the serial number, or as many do now just the sign in details
Do you not use the AppStore on your MacBook?
If you do they will always be there in your available downloads, not on this machine

Yes I do own them but did not want to go through the agg in downloading them hence the question putting them onto ssd if ever I wanted to use again,

Yes I have an account with my details attached to the programs,

No I don’t use the App Store at all,

These are not in the App Store so I don’t think that is possible,