New Member - First Public outing

Went to Yorkshire this last weekend. This video is the result of a nice afternoon near Kirkham Abbey. Its English Heritage controlled but it was shut at the time. I was on a public footpath the other side of the river. The video isnt particularly good or cinematic but it is my first attempt at flying apart from my garden and a couple of circuits around the Jubilee River in Windsor. Please feel free to constructively criticize and also suggest good free or cheap editing software.
Cheers

6 Likes

I have seen lots of folk on here recommending DaVincci Resolve. The functionality offered by the free version seems to be more than enough for most people, so it might be worth giving that a go?

1 Like

Davinci Resolve is hard to learn when when you get to grips with the basics it’s brilliant there are plenty of great tutorials on you tube for DR

1 Like

Another thumbs up for DaVinci Resolve, highly recommend it.

1 Like

Hi really like the video. I’d slow down your rotation on pan shots as they were a little quick but other than that a great piece of work. Take your time, use slow movement s and steady reveals and enjoy the experience.
Happy Flying

1 Like

Hi Myleene,

Agreed. :slight_smile:

But it’s a brave first attempt - flying over and across water/ Nobody produces a masterpiece first off and there is a hell of a lot to think about. Take every chance you can to become proficient at flying.

The reason I say that is the first thing that struck me was the opening rising shot - great, going for a reveal, But then you stopped then moved forward rather than rising and going forward in one motion. Once you are more in tune with your aircraft things will become a lot smoother, more fluid.

Hesitancy is the next thing - you didn’t seem to have specific target in mind and occasionally moved from one shot to another and back. It helps to look at Google Earth or similar before visiting a site and have an idea of the shots you want to capture.