Should've gone to SpecSavers

Just wondering how everyone manages to see their drones at altitude/distance. Managed to get out yesterday morning and pop my drone cherry. Conditions were great, with little to no wind. Had a great few hours but had 1 main issue. At a distance of around 50M out and/or 75M up, i was having major issues seeing the drone.
Is this a common issue that gets better with experience or do i need to attach some cotton candy pink streamers to the damn thing.

Thanks, kris

1 Like

Hi kris, I’m fairly new with m3p. I struggle to see it at 50m up at anything beyond 150m distance. I tend to rely on the screen as it gets further away. I expect much higher would be even more tricky….Neil

1 Like

Hi, yes it is a problem - I have an Air 2S and dependant on conditions can just make it out at circa 1,000 feet unless I look away - then trying to find it again is err hard. I know some people fit night lights to extend their viewing limit. I have an RG pro controller and its screen usually helps me out when that happens

1 Like

Everyones VLOS (visual line of sight) is different, with practice you should be able to see an M3P at 500m

2 Likes

Other ways of improving this is to (a) wrap it in a bright colour, and/or (b) use Strobon Crees. There are plenty of threads on here with examples.

My new Mini 3 Pro and my Mini 2.

2 Likes

Make sure you wrap it place strobes and break the weight regulations as long as you keep in the rules of VLOS :roll_eyes::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::rofl::rofl::rofl:

@2_Stroke yes people do try to keep VLOS but I guarantee 99% of people lose it in a blink of a eye or that split second you look at your monitor or something distracts you in your environment and they do not bring it back they will revert to there monitor and carry on flying until probably RTH and it’s above there head.