Unable to import MP4 to Final Cut Pro

Hi Guys

I’m a total newbie and a total newb with FCP although I have been using Adobe Premiere Pro. So please forgive me if this is a lame question, I’ve tried searching but can’t find anything that relates to my problem. I suspect it is a user error (down to me). But after two hours of searching and changing some settings still no Joy. I am trying to edit my Drone footage with little success.

I have made one video with no problems edited it, even added an audio track. I then decided to have another bash. I, therefore, started with New Library/new project. named it local.

I then try to add media and my collection of MP4 vids are all ghosted. the only media available is 2 .jpg files. See attachment

For Info: I’m using FCP 10.4.3 All my files are on an external hard drive, named studio, having been downloaded from the MicroSDHC Card. I have other folders with MP4 files, on the same external hard which were taken on my iPhone using My DJI Osmo3. I can import these, but not the MP4’s from my Mavic Pro and I have not changed any settings on my Mavic Pro.

I suspect I’ll kick myself when someone points out my error

2 Likes

Are the ‘greyed out’ files all ones you used in your previous edit?

1 Like

Hi milkmanchris

No this is totally new footage taken 7 weeks after my first attempt. I am going to try a hard reset on my Mavic 2 pro to see if this helps. However it has not had a crash nor any issues prior to this. Hence why I’m at a loss

Do the files open in preview on your Mac.

Are they H264 or H265 ?

1 Like

Do they import to iMovie ok? :thinking:

H265

Play in Quicktime no problem whats so ever I have done a full hard reset so will try to record later it’s just it is chucking it down now and I’m on nights tonight. trying it indoors gives a real grainy/noisy image

Yeah but if it imports all is good (again)

1 Like