War memorials

A few years back I completed a bike ride for the Army Benevolent Fund the soldiers charity for which I am a committee member. The idea of my challenge was that I started at my house in Liverpool and cycled alone with no support team to the national war memorial in Lichfield, and stayed overnight they cyled home the next night. the route was elongated so that it covered 453 km the exact amount of British military deaths in Afghanistan.

Along my route I stopped and photographed the different war memorials of each village. I have been contemplating doing similar with my drone, not for charity just photographing them as I see them.

I don’t have PFCO so obviously there will be plenty that I cannot do. But if I stuck to the drone code is there any moral or legal reason why I shouldn’t?

Legally, it simply depends on where they are, which as you say, the Drone Code has the answers.

1 Like

Ok, I’m not a lawyer but I would say that War memorials are in place to be viewed. Their purpose is to help us remember the victims of war and, I assume, to bring some solace to the fmilies of those whose names are inscribed on the monument.

So their purpose is to be seen and scrutinised. As long as you observe the drone code I can see no problem at all with what you are doing. You may need to get an A2 CofC once / if the new regulations come in.

2 Likes

There are a lot covered by national trust covenants so just keep an eye on land ownership. Other wise crack on.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick replys, I am in the Army and have been for 14 years so i understand the importance of the memorials, I’d just hate if the family of a deceased soldier seen me and assumed I was just mucking about.

I’d like to do a whole series of videos and pictures of them, I may start planning soon.

I am planning on doing it at some point I do want to earn some cash on the side if possible and wouldn’t want to get my collar felt!

1 Like