What is Mavlink? And what can it do for me?

Good evening.
I have a tbs tango 2 with a 5" quad on betaflight. I am curious what mavlink really is and what I can get out of it as my tx/rx support it.
Now. I have googled it, and I’m sure I’m not dyslexic. Old, but not dyslexic. But I can’t seem to get the jist of what the internet is telling me.

Can someone please give me a simple run down of what I can get out of mavlink with a quad, on betaflight that has a gps module. Do I need a groundstation? Why? What is mavlink for?

Hi Karl @notveryprettyboy

I’m not an expert on this and no doubt others will contribute as well but here goes…

Mavlink is a protocol for communicating information from configuration software to flight control boards and then out as telemetry information for ground stations, TX displays, OSD’s etc…

Betaflight, INAV etc. all use the ‘multiwii’ protocol from the early days of Baseflight.

Mavlink, until recently, has been the domain of APM/PX4 systems using Mission Planner or GCS as the configuration tool and ‘sitting’ on platforms such as APM, Pixhawk, CUBE(2.1) etc.
These systems are the prefferred for proffessional applications such as surveying, mapping, SaR, long distance inspection flights etc.

However, recently, and this is the good news. With the introduction of the Chibios OS the Ardupilot (copter/plane/rover/tracker variants) firmware can be loaded onto our traditional 30.5mm square FC boards. which have the advantage of built-in OSD, LED strip, data logging etc.

My THEER wing, the black one, has a MATEK wing FC inside it running Arduplane. It was a breeze to install and setup.

These are a few of the common boards that now run MAVLINK protocol systems

Furious FPV F-35 Lightning and Wing FC-10
Holybro Kakute F4
Holybro Kakute F7 AIO
Holybro Kakute F7 Mini (only V1 and V2 are compatible)
Mateksys F405-SE
Mateksys F405-STD and variants*
Mateksys F405-Wing
Mateksys F765-Wing
Mateksys H743-Wing
Omnibus F4 AIO/Pro
Omnibus Nano V6