Advice for first Self-Build (5")

After some great advice from @RestlessZombi thought I’d create a quick thread, just generally looking for some backseat driving here so if you see anything I’ve done that’s dumb or have a particular axe to grind, feel free to call me out, no offense will be taken! :slight_smile:

This is my first build, and prior to this I’d never even held a soldering iron; as a software dev, hardware problems have always been someone else’s kettle of fish. Parts I’ve got so far / intend to put together (note ahead of time that apart from attempting to make sure parts are compatible, my biggest driver so far has been what’s in ruddy stock as opposed to trying to fit a specific flying style so advice on replacements/corrections more than welcome):

• DJI O3 Air Unit
  • Volador II VD5 O3 Deadcat FPV T700 Frame Kit
  • Mamba F405MK2 V2 Flight Stack
  • iFlight XING-E Pro 2306 Motors (1700 KV)
  • Ethix S3 5031 Propellers
  • TBS Crossfire Nano Receiver (Special Edition)

The intent is to fly this with DJI Goggles 2, TBS Tango 2 (Crossfire) radio, and on 6S batteries (currently stocking Tattu R-Line 1400mAh v5’s to try out). I went with deadcat because for now I don’t mind the O3 video output and don’t own a gopro yet so wanted to ensure props were out of frame. I’m a novice flyer still so I’m hoping the frame can take small knocks into grass while I learn (how to fly, how to better setup the drone, how to do basic freestyle stunts, how to get best footage for gyroflow/colour grading, etc)

Construction to date is… about 1/4 done maybe? Last session I added solder to the board for the prop cables, looking at it now I think I might need more.

Some questions that you’re more than welcome to ignore if you’d like to jump into build slamming! :smiley: