Another Do I, Don't I (PfCO) question?

I’ve been flying my Mavic Pro Platinum for a couple of years now, having flown fixed wing before that, and I have been thinking about getting my PfCO with the hope of getting some commercial work in the future. I would obviously upgrade to better equipment if this were the case. But part of me keeps saying, is it worth it, how much work will I get, will I actually see a return on my investment? The commercial drone scene seems pretty crowded and I guess depends to a certain extent on where you live? For instance, I have a friend in central Scotland who seems to do well for forestry survey work. But what about other part of the country such as the Midlands and South West?

I’ve read the various other threads regarding Commercial work on this forum and I am still not convinced.

Any advice welcome.

I would say that the PfCO is only a small part of the package. It is basically training and a test to show competence in operating the aircraft to a standard that doesn’t endanger others. Iy is a licence to operate that can be taken away if legal conditions aren’t met.

The PfCO has no bearing whatsoever on creativity, competence in camera operation, ability to follow a brief, editing and colour grading skills or mapping, surveying, 3D modelling, thermal imaging …

The PfCO gives you licence to do all those things and try to earn money doing so. If you are good at all or any of them you will find a market. And remember the flying is only a means to an end. Professional divers may have been seduced into the trade through recreational scuba diving, the diving component of their job is usually subordinate to the engineering, building or welding work they ub=ndertake whilst submerged.