Any good areas around Bucks, Berks, or Oxon?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to drones and need a good place to get some flight time in. I have a DJI Air3 and am really struggling with where to fly it. Where I live it is heavily built up so not possible under my current rating of 150m from everywhere…

I am studying for the A2 certification and completed all of the course but need to get some air time in.

For my own purposes as well I find it difficult to go into busy areas so I would like to find somewhere that is quiet and away from people and heavy traffic and more natural.

Unfortunately I have already crashed the thing as I have been trying to get flight time in by using my kitchen and got too close to a cupboard with obstacle avoidance turned off. That was an unfortunate right-off of 4x propellers :frowning:

I initially tried the entrance to the Aston Rowant reserve as there is a layby where I pulled up at 1am in the morning as I know it is quiet then. Unfortunately a van busted in on me so naturally I had to land and get into the car and lock the doors in case I got hassled.

I moved over to Maidensgrove which was fine but later checking the map I was really close to some buildings which where shielded by trees. Then I moved on to Bix Bottom and the bridleway towards the Warburg reserve and parked up in front of the old church ruin. Technically I was on public ground but this area would not be very good during the daytime as there are visitors who come down to go to the reserve and various farms around and their vehicles.
Also the church is either National Trust or Heritage so I’m not sure how close I can get to that? I actually got right above it and next to which I think might not have been following “the rules”??

At the moment I can see potentially Amersham or Cookham being spots listed on the Dronescene website but when are these areas actually devoid of people unless you go at 1am or after?