Are the uk drone laws evidence based or are they assumption based?

I’m new to drones and very law abiding. If a law in header makes sense and is based on a need for it to correct something bad I support it fully. If it doesn’t make sense 8 have the right to question its validity…
Eg. Cars kill people every day and we can drive them anywhere after passing a test.
I can’t find any evidence of a drone killing someone but they are banned in many places above 250g. ( why 250g? That would hurt if it fell from 400 foot on your head!). I get the 400 foot as it makes sense and bigger stuff flies over that level.
As a total newcomer the drone laws seem to be ridiculous and like every thing in life 99% of us are sensible. No law stops the other 1%.
Has anyone asked these obvious questions to the “ drone police”? If so where is the evidence of many injuries or deaths?
It appears the laws are based on assumptions and that undermines them totally.
Let’s ban bikes from many public places as they can hurt or kills someone?
See you are rattled about that as it’s more common and would affect more people.

Right off to my bunker for a few weeks after asking such a pertinent question,

2 Likes

Do a search on here my man. This topic has been covered many many many times before.

2 Likes

Thanks. I did and nothing came up which surprised me.

3 Likes

I don’t quite understand your question. If you’re going to charged with a crime there always has to be evidence or witnesses.

Are you asking specifically about the CAA laws or bye-laws? Or something else entirely.

The answer is probably: research the area. Use dronescene to find out if you’re good to go, and use some common sense to fly at times to not annoy the general public or wildlife.

The general rule of thumb is. you need land owners permission to take off and land. But you can fly over whatever the hell you want once you’re in the air. Assuming you stick to the drone code.